Kuratorenteam

Emiliano Valdés
Assoziierter Kurator

Emiliano Valdés ist Kurator und lebt in London und Guatemala. Er ist derzeit Kurator und Ko-Direktor der Proyectos Ultravioleta, einer facettenreichen Plattform für Experimente in der zeitgenössischen Kunst mit Sitz in Guatemala-Stadt sowie Assoziierter Kurator der 10. Gwangju Biennale. In den letzten 5 Jahren war Emiliano Kurator/Leiter für Visuelle Künste am Centro Cultural de España in Guatemala und hat ein Ausstellungsprogramm entwickelt, das dazu beitrug, die lokale Kunstszene neu zu strukturieren. Davor arbeitete er für Institutionen wie die dOCUMENTA(13) (Kassel) und das Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (Madrid) sowie als Kurator für mehrere Biennalen in Zentralamerika. Er veröffentlichte Artikel in internationalen Zeitschriften, darunter ArtNexus, Arte al Día, contemporary, FlashArt und war an zahlreichen Künstlerkatalogen und Büchern beteiligt.

Fatos Ustek
Assoziierter Kurator

Fatos Ustek ist freischaffende Kuratorin und Autorin aus Istanbul und lebt derzeit in London. Sie ist Assoziierte Kuratorin der 10. Gwangju Biennale und Gastdozentin des Vision Forum, Linkopings Universitet, Schweden. Sie kuratierte u.a. eine Oper in fünf Akten an der David Roberts Art Foundation (DRAF), London; die Ausstellungstrilogie Now Expanded in der Kunstfabrik / Berlin, Tent / Rotterdam und DRAF / London sowie Gruppenausstellungen in Europa und der Türkei. Sie ist Mitglied der AICA Türkei und regelmäßige Autorin solcher Kunstpublikationen wie Camera Austria International, Art Review, RES Art World / World Art. Ustek hat für internationale Publikationen geschrieben, darunter der 6. Momentum Biennale Reader, Borusan Art Collection und zahlreiche Künstlerkataloge. Ustek war 2008-2012 Gründungsdirektorin des Nowiswere Contemporary Art Magazine, sie ist Herausgeberin des Buches Unexpected Encounters Situations of Contemporary Art and Architecture (nur in Türkisch, 2012), hrsg. vom Zorlu Zentrum, Istanbul; und sie ist Autorin des Book of Confusions, 2012, veröffentlicht von Rossi & Rossi, London.

Enna Bae
Assoziierte Kuratorin für Performance

Enna Bae ist freischaffende Kunstproduzentin und Koordinatorin und lebt in Seoul, Korea. Sie hat mit vielen Künstlern und Kuratoren zusammengearbeitet, um durch Performances, Film, Ausstellungen, Vorträge und Festivals neue Richtungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene zu erkunden. Sie arbeitete u.a. mit Sunny Kim an der Culture Station Seoul 284 (2012); Seoyoung Chung in der Kim Kim Gallery (2011); Tino Sehgal im Korean National Museum of Contemporary Art (2012), Shanghai Museum of Contemporary Art (2011), Media City Seoul und der Gwangju Biennale (2010); Ujino Muneteru, Joo Yeon Park, Nina Biere und Marie Lund in Platform Seoul (2008); und William Forsyth und Nadia Lauro beim Springwave Festival (2007). Als Programmkoordinatorin für das Kunstbildungsprogramm war sie an der Dongduk Frauenuniversität tätig (2013) sowie als Katalogredakteurin bei Media City Seoul (2010), Assistenzkuratorin für Platform Seoul (2008) und für die Festivaldramaturgie des Springwave Festival (2007). Sie erhielt ihren DESS für Management in Kulturinstitutionen an der Universität Paris Dauphine in Frankreich (2005), nachdem sie ihren BA in französischer Literatur in Korea abschloss (1997).

Teresa Kittler
Assistenzkuratorin

Teresa Kittler ist eine AHRC finanzierte Doktorandin an der Abteilung für Kunstgeschichte des University College London. 2003 erhielt sie ihren BA von der UCL und 2006 den MA vom Courtauld Institute of Art. Sie war Forschungsassistentin für Alighiero Boetti, game plan an der Tate Modern (2012). Gegenwärtig lehrt sie an der UCL und arbeitet als Redaktionsassistentin für das Oxford Art Journal.

 

(Aus Presseinformationen, 23. Januar 2014. Aus dem Englischen: Haupt & Binder)

10. Gwangju Biennale

5. September - 9. November 2014

Gwangju, Republik Korea

Thema:  Burning Down the House
Siehe das Konzept

Künstlerische Leitung:  Jessica Morgan
Siehe die Biografie

Kuratorenteam:
Assoziierte Kuratoren: Fatos Ustek, Emiliano Valdes
Assoziierte Kuratorin für Performance: Enna Bae
Assistenzkuratorin: Teresa Kittler

 

Zurück nach oben

Curatorial Team

Emiliano Valdés
Associate Curator

Emiliano Valdés is a curator based in London and Guatemala. Currently Curator and Co-Director of Proyectos Ultravioleta, a multifaceted platform for experimentation in contemporary art based in Guatemala City, he is also Associate Curator for the 10th Gwangju Biennale. Over the past 5 years, Emiliano was Curator/Head of Visual Arts at the Centro Cultural de España in Guatemala developing an exhibition programme which helped re-shape the local art scene. Previously he worked for institutions such as dOCUMENTA(13) (Kassel) and the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, (Madrid), and curated several biennials in Central America. He has also published articles in international magazines such as ArtNexus, Arte al Día, contemporary, and FlashArt, as well as being involved in numerous artist catalogues and books.

Fatos Ustek
Associate Curator

Fatos Ustek is an independent curator and writer, from Istanbul, currently based in London. She is Associate Curator for the 10th Gwangju Biennale, and guest tutor at Vision Forum, Linkopings Universitet, Sweden. She curated, amongst other projects, an opera in five acts at David Roberts Art Foundation (DRAF), London; the exhibition trilogy Now Expanded that took place at Kunstfabrik, Berlin; Tent, Rotterdam; and DRAF, London as well as various group shows in Europe and Turkey. She is member of AICA Tr and regular contributor to art publications such as Camera Austria International, Art Review, RES Art World / World Art. Ustek has written for international publications such as the 6th Momentum Biennial Reader, Borusan Art Collection and numerous artist catalogues. Ustek acted as founding editor of Nowiswere Contemporary Art Magazine between 2008-2012, is the editor of the book Unexpected Encounters Situations of Contemporary Art and Architecture (Turkish Only, 2012) published by Zorlu Centre, Istanbul; and is the author of Book of Confusions, 2012, published by Rossi & Rossi, London.

Enna Bae
Associate Curator for Performance

Enna Bae as an independent art producer and a coordinator based in Seoul, Korea, collaborated with many artists and curators to explore new directions in the contemporary art scene, through performances, film, exhibitions, lectures, and festivals. She has worked with Sunny Kim at Culture Station Seoul 284 (2012); Seoyoung Chung at the Kim Kim Gallery (2011); Tino Sehgal at the Korean National Museum of Contemporary Art (2012), Shanghai Museum of Contemporary Art (2011), Media City Seoul and the Gwangju Biennale (2010); Ujino Muneteru, Joo Yeon Park, Nina Biere and Marie Lund at Platform Seoul (2008); and William Forsyth and Nadia Lauro at the Springwave Festival (2007) among others. She has also participated as a program coordinator for the art educational program at Dongduk Women's University (2013), catalogue editor for Media City Seoul (2010), assistant curator for Platform Seoul (2008), and festival dramaturgie for the Springwave Festival (2007). She received her DESS at the Management of Cultural Institutions at University Paris Dauphine in France (2005) after completing her BA in French Literature in Korea (1997).

Teresa Kittler
Assistant Curator

Teresa Kittler is an AHRC funded doctoral student in the History of Art Department at University College London. She received her BA from UCL in 2003 and MA from the Courtauld Institute of Art in 2006. She was research assistant at Tate Modern for Alighiero Boetti, game plan (2012). She is currently a teaching fellow at UCL and works as editorial assistant for the Oxford Art Journal.

(From press information, 23 January 2014)

10th Gwangju Biennale

5 September - 9 November 2014

Gwangju, Republic of Korea

Theme:  Burning Down the House
See the concept

Artistic direction:  Jessica Morgan
See the biography

Curatorial team:
Associate Curators: Fatos Ustek, Emiliano Valdes
Associate Curator for Performance: Enna Bae
Assistant Curator: Teresa Kittler

Back to Top